I'm depressed. It's 7 days into the new year and I've been sick the entire time. It started New Years Eve. And this was after a HELL of a year. 2025 was wild. It's 2026 now. I'm realizing that I spend a lot of time and energy reading about other people's lives. I scroll reddit, I scroll Twitter. I see what's happening with thousands of people every single day. Well, what the actual fuck is happening in my life? This is the "calm" after the storm. I've been picking up the pieces of what I blew up for months now. I'm becoming stagnant, it truly feels. Or is this because I'm sick and LITERALLY just existing right now? Every day is sleep, eat, work, scroll, smoke, bed. Every day I think "wow I should do this" and most days I don't do shit. I struggle not being productive. I know I'm not alone in this, in this capitalistic culture we're chained to.
Yes, life these days is bleak. And yet, there's so much good if I try and focus on it. For one, me and my fiance are back together!! The wedding is back on! I'm returning to Central America for ANOTHER retreat! I have concert tix. My cat is healthy. My parents are healthy. I ... well, not so much. I feel unhealthy at this point. Smoking weed every single day will do that to an almost 40 year old. God, I hate being sick. This has truly sucked. I had very high hopes for the new year. Sure, there's a lot coming up. But this cabin fever and cold weather and sickness AND my period came early has me feeling quite sorry for myself, and also kinda beating the shit out of myself mentally. Calling myself a bitch, a little baby, pathetic, a victim, but no... I'm not those things. Ok am I am That Bitch but this mindset where weakness is not allowed is so exhausting. I'm exhausted.
I shouldn't be, because I have been so inactive, but here we are.
UGH.
It's just a depressive episode. I'm in it. I'm riding the wave but at a very low point. I'm nauseous. I'm sick of living like this. But what else can I DO? Work is all I do. Work is NOT all I am. But it is DAMN HARD trying to figure out "who I am" outside of my job title.
Meanwhile, K. is over there on a regimented work out program. He's doing amazing and I am so proud of him!! Also, worried that he will see that I AIN'T SHIT.
Oh the tone of this blog is a sad one indeed. That is what my life has become. Sad. I need to get a hobby. Guitar? Haven't touched it in almost a year. Writing? Lol, rarely. Reading? On the toilet. Walking? It's freezing and dark and I live in the city. Not happening outside. I do have a walking pad that K. got me last winter. It was a godsend before I got sick. I was walking every day. I thought I could get on it last night but taking down the decorations used up all my remaining energy. Yoga? I fell off the wagon. WHAT ELSE DO PEOPLE DO???
Please, someone... help me. =(